In the 1970s, Philadelphia philanthropist Dorothy (Mrs. F. Otto) Haas proposed the park and the William Penn Foundation funded its construction. Designed principally by John Collins (1936-2011) of the Delta Group, the original park was dedicated on June 5, 1979.
For 20 years, the park was owned and maintained by the PenJerDel Regional Foundation until January 2010, when it was transferred to the Center City District Foundation. Through the generosity of the William Penn Foundation, the Center City District has restored the park’s fountain, benches, landscaping and lighting.
Searching for an unusual gift for someone special, a one-of-a-kind way to recognize a friend, or a unique way to memorialize a loved one? Consider adopting a park bench!
The Center City District’s ‘Adopt-a-Bench’ program provides the unique opportunity for recognition in John F. Collins Park. Donors are acknowledged by a bronze plaque on the selected bench, engraved with a personalized inscription. Funds from donations help endow the maintenance of these parks.
John F. Collins Park is a small quiet oasis in the heart of Center City’s business and retail district. It was designed by the late John F. Collins and renovated by the Center City District in 2011. The park’s gentle fountain, wood benches, native landscaping and lighting create a retreat-like atmosphere for workers, residents, and visitors seeking a peaceful setting amid a bustling downtown. Handsome curved benches are still available for adoption near the Chestnut Street entrance of John F. Collins Park. Your donation will help endow the maintenance of our benches and landscape.
Interested in adopting a bench? Bench availability is limited, so don’t miss out on this unique opportunity. To adopt a bench, contact Katie Andrews at 215.440.5529 or email email@example.com or download the Adopt-A-Bench Form today!